Highlights 2009

The third annual ScotCHEM Computational Chemistry Symposium was held on the 13th of May 2009 at Heriot-Watt University, with speakers from many research active Scottish universities. The event attracted as many as 72 delegates. The organisers would like to thank the speakers and all those who attended for helping to make the symposium so successful!

Lecture session is in progress

Lecture session is in progress

Poster Prize Winners

The poster session with 41 presenters was particularly interesting. Delegates appreciated efforts of Russell McKinlay and Justyna Zurek in understanding of ultrafast photochemistry, Alexander Whiteside in an attempt to generalize a concept of electronegativity and apply it to molecular systems, Sanliang Ling in theoretical design of catalysts. Majority of presenters enjoyed fruitful discussions with young gifted scientist Daniel Taylor. Spiritual presence of Michael Edie gave rich scientific flavour to the event. The best posters were carefully selected and three winners were determined by respected academics. Two second prizes were won by Peter Daldrop and Lynsey Shepherd. The first prize was taken by Panagiotis Angelikopoulos and his co-author Luis Cebamanos.

Second prize winner: Peter Daldrop, "Virtual ligand screening for Riboswitches"

Second prize winner: Lynsey Shepherd, "Fast Proton Transport through Proteins via Internal Water Wires"

First prize winners: Luis Cebamanos and Panagiotis Angelikopoulos (from left to right), "In quest of an optimum Carbon Nanotube dispersion mechanism"

Our winers: Peter Daldrop, Panagiotis Angelikopoulos, and Lynsey Shepherd (from left to right)

(c) Heriot-Watt University